Lingerie Endearments

26 Feb

Hello Dearies!

Since I started blogging (in fits and starts, mind you) I have been surprised by so many wonderful events surrounding this blog, and myself in general. It’s a glorious feeling to be able to write about a topic that I’m so passionate about, and there is never any shortage of fantastic pretty things to discover. Lucky me!!

Image Credits: Mairose Boutique

I’ve fawned over hundreds of amazing lingerie designers (both small and large), all wildly talented, creative and astoundingly original. I’ve come to appreciate European legacies of textile production including silk, satin, lace, and modern fabrics – all while honoring a long history of fabric milling. Many UK designers are supporting entire factories that have been in business for hundreds of years. I am in awe of this, and deeply support the continuation of Legacy.

Of course, the world is changing and needs to be taken care of in a more responsible way. Refreshingly, many legacy factories – and a great majority of designers – are embracing environmentally-sound manufacturing processes; milling organic cotton, blending sustainable bamboo and silk, developing cleaner dye processes, etc.. Other designers source and use vintage fabrics and materials, and one-of-a-kind embellishments, or craft them by hand. In our Modern Age, it’s wonderful to see so much variety in lingerie and intimate wear.

Image Credits: Mairose Boutique

Read more after the jump…

Although I live in the US, and firmly believe in shopping local to support communities close to home, I do also believe in supporting global communities. After all, I have family and friends who are flung far and wide; their worlds should be supported as well. I do my best to encourage both local and global shopping with responsible, intelligent brands and fashion houses.

Therefore, you will see quite a lot of European lingerie designers, as well Australian, American, Canadian, South American, French, Polish, German, Japanese, Chinese, Italian, Argentinian, and Greek designers (and dozens of others, I’m sure). The world is not so large, truly. For all I know, your next-door-neighbor sews the most amazing undies in town, and I want a pair for myself!

[If that’s true, do let me know!]

I am having such a great time; I love lingerie and more importantly, I love telling YOU about my favorite lingerie! ♥

What about you kitten? What do you love about lingerie? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

xoxo,

Mlle. Remi

P.S. Two of the most surprising things about my time in blogging so far is:

(1.) I have quite the international following; Hello Poland!

(2.) Liv Tyler in Stockings  is just about the most sought out image on the entire internet, ever. Apparently.

P.P.S. Minutes after posting this diatribe, I noticed that Ayten Gasson was feaured in a fascinating article about the pros & cons of manufacturing in Britain”A must read!

Leave a Reply

