Loose Buttons: Laundry Day Edition

17 Jan

Happy Monday my dearies!  I’m tackling the mountain of laundry that has piled up in my house while the Mister busies himself with video games.  I plan on wearing pajamas all day long while I cozy up on the bed, because that’s just how I do it on laundry day!

I’ve enjoyed the little mini-vacation that I’ve been on for the past week.  I didn’t accomplish as much as I had hoped I would, but overall it was relaxing which is just what I needed.

Here are a few links & goodies that I gathered up; its a light list due to internet troubles at Mairose HQ, but I hope you enjoy it nonetheless.

Explore the World’s Largest Cave, a 2.5 mile cavern located in Vietnam, carved over thousands of years by annual flooding, with subterranean eco-systems, jungles, and enough space to fit a New York city block.  The photos are stunning, interactive overview is pretty neat too!  Via National Geographic.com

NPR’s 50 Albums of 2010 should keep you fairly busy discovering some new bands and tunes.

I am so intrigued by the idea of a luxury hotel opening at the Palace of Versailles!  I have a deep obsession with the Palace, and I’m definitely adding this to my life list.  I also wouldn’t mind spending a night or two at Josephine Bonaparte’s Chateau de Malmaison as well!

This new community and shopping experience is brilliant!  The founders are still seeking funding to support the project but it looks very promising!

“Genderplayful is a plan for an online clothing marketplace that celebrates diversity in gender presentation and body types. This is for anyone who can’t easily find what they’re looking for in a typical clothing store, with special support for androgynous, unisex, butch, dapper, femme, gender-bending, gender-transgressive, and gender-fanflippingtastic clothing solutions for all kinds of bodies.
Genderplayful cares about custom solutions, and the marketplace will host a lively community that finds and creates those solutions together. Vendors will include indie designers, crafters, clothing makers, tailors, and people selling things from their closets and local thrift stores. Community members will pool notes on what they’re excited about, and vendors will take cues from buyers on what to create more of. The goal is to create a culture-rich gorgeous Internet bazaar for the playful, the exquisite, and the just trying to get dressed in the morning.”

~ via Feministing

Well, this was an interesting publicity stunt! Virgin Holidays kicked off their annual sale by staging a Guinness World Record event; 200 burlesque dancers braved freezing temperatures to dance for five minutes in chilly Trafalgar Square in London, attempting to set a burlesque world record.

I’m endlessly fascinated by the stories of early burlesque dancers, and “the original garter girl”, Lynne O’Neill is no exception. She was known for throwing her garters into the audience during each performance, sparking a cultural phenomenon of ‘garter collecting’. Although Lynne passed away on October 9, 2010, collectors can still request autographed garters from her estate guardians. What fun!

Here’s a smart solution for drying your freshly-washed dainties.

That’s all from me, for now!

 

xoxo,

Mlle. Remi

Leave a Reply

